Pound-for-Pound
Fire & Heat showdown
The Best Propane Fire Pits of 2026: Portable Bowls, the Concrete Question, and What Each Costs to Run

Some links here are affiliate links — if you buy through them, we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you (sometimes with a discount for you). It never changes which products we recommend — and we name the SKIPs to prove it.
- contenders compared
- 7
- owner ratings · Amazon
- 29,049
- data last verified
- September 2026
A propane fire pit is the campfire you are allowed to have: no smoke, no ash, no burn-ban argument, lit in a second and off in one. It is also a category sold on two things that do not survive a close read — a BTU number that every bowl shares and a word, concrete, that means two different materials. This is a pound-for-pound roundup of propane fire bowls — the portable kind, not the tables we rank on their own page — plus the two concrete pits a reader handed us, because they turned out to be the whole lesson.
We read seven with every recent critical review, priced each one per hour on both ways of buying propane, and pulled the placement rules from the manufacturers’ manuals instead of the blogs. Two of the seven are on this page to be understood rather than bought.
The short version:
🏆 Best overall: Outland Firebowl 893 — the bowl the testers keep landing on, a 304 stainless burner, a maker that names its certifying agency on the model, and 4.8★ across 17,773 ratings on a listing with no variants. Its catch: no igniter, and a low-flame tail.
👥 Best for a group: Outland Mega 883 — the same 58,000 BTU in a 24-inch bowl six people can see. More flame, not more heat.
💰 Best value 24-inch: Flame King — the Mega’s size with the igniter Outland leaves out, for less. Open the box the day it lands; its tail is arrival damage, and Amazon Resale held the buy box.
🎒 Best packable: Ignik FireCan — a campfire in a 12-inch ammo can. Ambiance, not heat.
🪨 The concrete pair — Modeno’s York is real GFRC with thirteen ratings; ReeQuo’s “Terra fab” bowl is a painted magnesium-oxide composite with seventy-eight, pooled across five products. Read the concrete section before you buy either.
⛔ The SKIP: GasBRUH 19 — the grill grate it is sold on melts, and two of its ten newest critical reviews describe propane leaking at a fitting.
Quick comparison
Every bowl here claims 58,000 to 60,000 BTU, so the output column tells you almost nothing — a bowl burns what its valve passes, and the valves are the same. The columns that decide it are the burner material, whether there is an igniter, what the maker will actually say about certification, and what a full cylinder costs to burn.
| Model | Best for | Rated output | Burner | Ignition | Run cost per hour | Certification | Owner rating | Price |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Best overall | 58,000 BTU/hr | 304 stainless steel (maker's spec) | None — match or lighter (the most-read complaint) | $2.22 on a refilled cylinder · $4.48 on an exchange cylinder | 'CSA approved' on the listing; the maker's manual names CSA International on model FMPPC2B-875 (read by our research sweep) | 4.8★ / 17,773 | Check price → | |
| Best for a group | 58,000 BTU/hr | Stainless steel (maker's spec) | None — match or lighter | $2.22 on a refilled cylinder · $4.48 on an exchange cylinder | 'CSA approved' on the listing | 4.8★ / 9,403 | Check price → | |
| Best value 24-inch | 58,000 BTU/hr | Not specified on the listing | Piezo self-igniter | $2.22 on a refilled cylinder · $4.48 on an exchange cylinder | None stated on the listing | 4.6★ / 1,213 | Check price → | |
| Best packable | Not stated on the listing | Not specified | None — light through the pilot hole; flame control is on the hose, not the can | Not computable — no rated output published | None stated on the listing | 4.6★ / 350 | Check price → | |
| Real concrete, thin evidence | 45,000 BTU/hr (Modeno's figure on the sibling listing) | Stainless steel (listing) | Electronic, with auto safety shut-off (listing) | $1.72 on a refilled cylinder · $3.48 on an exchange cylinder | 'CSA and CE certified' on the listing; Elementi's manuals say 'complies with ANSI Z21.97' and name no agency | 3.4★ / 13 | Check price → | |
| The concrete-look bowl | 50,000 BTU/hr | SUS201 stainless (the listing's own spec) — the low-nickel 200-series grade; every other maker here names 304 | Electronic with auto shut-off (listing) | $1.91 on a refilled cylinder · $3.87 on an exchange cylinder | None stated on the listing | 4.6★ / 78 | Check price → | |
| The SKIP | 60,000 BTU/hr (claimed) | Not specified ('metal') | Piezo — failed on three of ten critical cards | $2.30 on a refilled cylinder · $4.64 on an exchange cylinder | None stated on the listing | 4.4★ / 219 | Check price → |
Prices move constantly — any Amazon price shown is as of the date noted and subject to change; tap through for today's number.
The pattern worth seeing: four steel bowls at nearly identical output, costing within a dime an hour of each other to run. What separates them is the tail — which one arrives bent, which one leaks, which one lights — and the one line on the spec sheet almost nobody reads, the burner alloy.
What it costs to run — on the propane you actually buy
No fire-pit listing prints this. Propane holds 91,452 Btu per gallon (the EIA’s figure) at 4.24 pounds a gallon, and an open burner burns its rated output, so a 58,000 BTU bowl uses about 2.7 pounds an hour. What that costs depends entirely on where the cylinder comes from. A refill station fills your 20-pound cylinder to 20 pounds at a per-gallon price. An exchange cage hands you a cylinder filled to about 15 pounds at a flat price — U-Haul, which runs refill stations, says exchange programs “only fill 20 lb. tanks to about 15 lbs.” A $25 swap is about $7 a gallon.
| Bowl | Refill ($3.50/gal) | Exchange (~$25 for ~15 lb) | Hours per cylinder (refill / exchange) |
|---|---|---|---|
| 58,000 BTU (Outland 893, Mega, Flame King) | $2.22/hr | $4.48/hr | 7.4 / 5.6 |
| 60,000 BTU (GasBRUH) | $2.30/hr | $4.64/hr | 7.2 / 5.4 |
| 50,000 BTU (ReeQuo) | $1.91/hr | $3.87/hr | 8.6 / 6.5 |
| 45,000 BTU (Modeno York) | $1.72/hr | $3.48/hr | 9.6 / 7.2 |
Refill the cylinder and an evening is about seven dollars. Swap it and the same evening is thirteen. The calculator below is the one our fire-table page uses — same constants, same open-burner math, checked to three percent against Bob Vila’s measured burn — with these bowls added to its list; for the refill-versus-exchange switch, the patio heater calculator has it.
What does a fire pit table cost to run?
Pick a bowl or type your own BTU, choose propane or a gas line, and set your own price. A bowl burns its rated output like a table does.
Propane holds 91,452 Btu per gallon (US Energy Information Administration) and weighs 4.24 lb per gallon at the industry reference temperature of 60 °F, so a full 20-lb tank is about 4.7 gallons or roughly 431,000 Btu. A therm of natural gas is 100,000 Btu by definition. A fire table is an open flame, so unlike a pool heater there is no transfer loss to subtract — the gas it burns per hour is its rated output, and the flame setting scales it close to linearly. These figures check out against a real burn: Bob Vila's tester ran a 50,000 BTU table at full output for twenty minutes and measured 0.8 lb of propane consumed, against the 0.77 lb this math predicts. The tank hours assume a genuinely full 20-lb tank — exchange-service tanks are routinely filled short, so a swapped tank runs less than this says. Gas prices vary a lot by state and season; the defaults here are starting points, and your own bill has the real number.
Best overall: Outland Living Firebowl 893
Nineteen inches, 58,000 BTU, 23 pounds, a 304 stainless steel burner — the alloy the premium concrete makers use, on a bowl that costs a tenth as much — with the cover, carry kit, lava rock and a 10-foot hose in the box. In our sweep of nine testing outlets it is the propane bowl that recurs across Bob Vila, Good Housekeeping, BHG and OutdoorGearLab, and it is the one bowl here whose maker names its certifying agency on the model number in its own manual rather than printing “CSA” on a bullet. Behind it: 4.8★ across 17,773 ratings, on a single listing with no size or colour variants, so the number is a read of this exact bowl — with the caveat that five of the thirteen visible cards are from Mexico, Canada and the UK.
Not for you if you expect a button. There is no igniter: you light it with a lighter through the rocks, and three of the ten newest critical reviews are people who did not know that. And read the low-flame tail before you blame the tank. “Only works on low,” “flame stopped getting high after 2 uses,” a regulator swap that did not fix it, and one knob area that caught fire — four of ten recent critical cards are the gas path, on a bowl with seventeen thousand ratings. Two owners add that it is not returnable, and the carry straps are loose. Leak-test the fittings with soapy water before the first light, which is true of every bowl on this page.
Best overall · The propane fire bowl every tester lands on — 58,000 BTU from a 304 stainless burner in a 23-lb enamelled steel bowl, cover, carry kit and a 10-ft hose in the box, the only bowl here whose maker names its certifying agency on the model, and 4.8★ across 17,773 on a single listing with no variants
Your pick if you want the reference propane campfire — 58,000 BTU, 23 lb, a real CSA-tested model number, and 17,773 owners behind it; light it with a lighter, because there is no igniter.
Check price at Amazon →“The Firebowl line of portable and no-mess propane fire pits from Outland Living is simple to use and performs exactly as expected. Each has a 58,000 BTU output and generates great heat without the embers, ash, smoke, or maintenance of a wood-burning fire pit.”
Good Housekeeping's 'Best for Camping' entry is the 24-inch Mega; this quote describes the Firebowl line. What differs: the 893 is the 19-inch Deluxe — same 58,000 BTU burner and build, a smaller bowl and 23 lb against 34 lb. OutdoorGearLab (updated March 2026) says it tested the Deluxe too and prefers the Mega for most people.
Your pick if you want the reference propane campfire — 58,000 BTU, 23 lb, a real CSA-tested model number, and 17,773 owners behind it; light it with a lighter, because there is no igniter.
Pro review “The Firebowl line of portable and no-mess propane fire pits from Outland Living is simple to use and performs exactly as expected. Each has a 58,000 BTU output and generates great heat without the embers, ash, smoke, or maintenance of a wood-burning fire pit.”Good Housekeeping's 'Best for Camping' entry is the 24-inch Mega; this quote describes the Firebowl line. What differs: the 893 is the 19-inch Deluxe — same 58,000 BTU burner and build, a smaller bowl and 23 lb against 34 lb. OutdoorGearLab (updated March 2026) says it tested the Deluxe too and prefers the Mega for most people.— Dan DiClerico, Good Housekeeping Institute Home Improvement & Outdoor Lab, Good Housekeeping
- Recurs as the propane pick across Bob Vila, Good Housekeeping, BHG and OutdoorGearLab in our sweep of nine testing outlets
- Single listing, no variants — the star is a read of this exact bowl
- 304 stainless burner and a named certifying agency at a budget price
- Cover, carry kit, lava rock and a 10-ft hose included; 23 lb
- No igniter — you light it with a lighter, and three of the ten newest critical cards did not know that
- Low-flame and regulator complaints: 'only works on low', 'flame stopped getting high after 2 uses', a knob area that caught fire
- Carry straps 'way too loose'; the lid has no handle
- Not returnable per two owners; five of thirteen visible cards are from Mexico, Canada and the UK
Low flame and the regulator — 'Lit fire bowl for first time and have had low flame issues continuously… also caught fire underneath knob adjustment' (Feb 2026), 'Flame stopped getting high after 2 uses' (Jan 2026), 'Only works on low… changed out regulator' (Dec 2025), 'fussy with different propane tanks'. Second theme: no igniter — three owners expected one. Third: loose carry straps, no lid handle, not returnable.
10 most recent critical cards read 2026-09-06 (Nov 2025 → Jul 2026): 4 of 10 low flame / regulator / tank fussiness, 3 no igniter, 2 straps or lid, 1 not returnable; 8/10 Verified Purchase, 0 Vine · critical reviews read September 2026
Best for a group: Outland Living Firebowl 883 Mega
The same maker, burner, kit and 58,000 BTU in a 24-inch bowl at 34 pounds — the one you buy for a patio rather than a truck bed. Six chairs fit around it, and owners say what the size is for: “looks impressive for use at home on a patio or deck.” 4.8★ across 9,403 ratings, again on a single listing.
Not for you if you think bigger means warmer. It does not: the output is identical to the 19-inch, spread over more rock, and OutdoorGearLab’s infrared thermometer put this model’s 58,000 BTU mid-pack. Its critical tail is the 893’s — “could not get much flame out of it, and almost no heat,” vapor lock if the tank valve is opened fast — plus one owner whose unit put flames out of the housing and hose after a year, a cover that puddles, and a missing bag of lava rock.
Outland Living Firebowl 883 Mega 24-inch Propane Fire Pit
Best for a groupYour pick if you are seating six around it on a patio rather than packing it to a campsite — the same heat as the 19-in in a bowl people can see from across the deck, on a base of 9,403.
Pro review “During our infrared thermometer test, I gathered readings exceeding 650°F, placing them in the middle of our lineup for heat output.”OutdoorGearLab's 'Best Portable Propane Fire Pit' — a hands-on review dated July 2024, with the Mega still holding that label on OGL's roundup updated March 2026. Kept as the only instrumented test of this exact model.— Kenji Mowrey, Senior Review Editor, OutdoorGearLab
- Six-person size at the same output; 'looks impressive for use at home on a patio or deck'
- Single listing, no variants; 9,403 owners
- Same maker, burner and kit as the best-overall pick
- OutdoorGearLab put this model on an infrared thermometer — one of two outlets that instrument the BTU claim at all
- Same output as the 19-in spread over a bigger bowl — it is not more heat, it is more flame to look at
- 'Could not get much flame out of it, and almost no heat' (May 2026); vapor lock if the tank valve is opened fast
- One owner's unit put flames out of the housing and hose after a year
- The cover 'puddles'; not returnable per two owners; missing lava rock on one delivery
Low flame for the money — 'We could not get much flame out of it, and almost no heat. We used up a 5 gallon bottle of propane' (May 2026), 'Does not put out much heat' (Dec 2025), three tanks tried before it lit (Feb 2025), vapor lock unless the valve is opened slowly. Second: a housing/hose fire after one year (May 2026). Third: a cover that puddles, not returnable, lava rock missing.
10 most recent critical cards read 2026-09-06 (Nov 2024 → Aug 2026): 4 of 10 low flame or no heat, 1 fire from the housing, 2 not returnable / size, 1 cover, 1 missing rock, 1 shipping; 10/10 Verified Purchase, 0 Vine · critical reviews read September 2026
Best value 24-inch: Flame King 24
The Mega’s size and output with a piezo self-igniter, a stabilizer ring, a cover and straps, for less money and four fewer pounds. Owners with 10,000 road miles on the 19-inch version report it still working, and the listing states a one-year defect warranty. 4.6★ across 1,213 ratings — pooled across the 19- and 24-inch sizes, with Canadian cards.
Not for you unless you inspect it on arrival. Five of the ten newest critical reviews are damage in the box: “bent up, missing paint,” “looks like it was hit by a forklift and created a very sharp edge,” scratched, loose bolts. The other four are the gas path — a regulator hose that came apart after one use, a tank fitting that broke off, a knob with no replacement part, an igniter missing from a unit sold with one. And check the seller line: at our read the buy box was Amazon Resale, which is open-box stock, not new.
Flame King 24-inch Smokeless Propane Fire Bowl
Best value 24-inchYour pick if you want the Mega's size with a push-button igniter for less — and you will open the box the day it arrives, because the tail is bent rims and missing bolts.
- Self-igniter, stabilizer ring, cover and straps in the box
- 24-in bowl at the 19-in's weight class — 27 lb
- Owners with 10,000 road miles on the 19-in report it still working
- One-year defect warranty stated on the listing
- Arrival damage is the tail: 'bent up, missing paint', 'looks like it was hit by a forklift', scratched, loose bolts
- Hose and fittings: a regulator hose that came apart after one use, a tank fitting that broke off, a knob with no replacement
- The star pools the 19- and 24-in sizes and carries Canadian cards
- Amazon Resale held the buy box at our read — check the seller line
It arrives damaged — 'Product was bent up, missing paint where bent' (Aug 2026), 'Looks like it was hit by a forklift and created a very sharp edge' (Jun 2026), 'delivered very scratch up', 'came damaged along one of the sides'. Second: the gas path — a regulator hose that 'came apart after one use', 'End that screws into propane tank broke after first use', a knob that broke with no replacement, an igniter missing on a unit sold with one.
10 most recent critical cards read 2026-09-06 (Sep 2025 → Aug 2026): 5 of 10 arrival damage, 4 hose / fitting / knob / igniter failures, 1 loose bolts; 10/10 Verified Purchase, 0 Vine · critical reviews read September 2026
Best packable: Ignik FireCan
An ammo can with mesh sides, folding legs and a five-foot hose: 11.5 pounds, packs to the size of a lunchbox, runs off a 5-pound cylinder for a couple of nights. Owners take it overlanding at ten thousand feet. It is the right answer to a specific question — a fire you carry — and the wrong answer to a patio. 4.6★ across 350 ratings, and one owner notes that Vine reviews sit in that base.
Not for you if you want heat. Four of the ten newest critical reviews are the flame: “insanely weak and small, even with a brand new propane cylinder.” The regulator lives on the hose at the tank, so the flame control is not on the can; one arrived without the hose, one’s regulator quit after a use, one owner describes a flare-up on lighting, and it does not run on 1-pound bottles, which defeats some of the point.
Ignik FireCan Portable Propane Fire Pit
Best packableYour pick if you are carrying it, not siting it — a campfire in a 12-inch box that a 5-lb cylinder runs for two nights; for a patio, the bowls above make three times the flame.
Pro review “I really liked the simplicity and heavy-duty build of the Ignik FireCan. The compact design and rugged construction made it easy to pack with camp gear without worrying that something might break or get lost.”Bob Vila's 'Best Propane' pick — the standard FireCan we card (not the Deluxe); page updated March 2025, eighteen months old, kept as the only credentialed hands-on test of this exact model.— Mark Wolfe, Bob Vila
- The most packable propane fire on Amazon — 11.5 lb, folds to a lunchbox
- Mesh sides show the flame from every seat
- Owners report it on five-day overlanding trips at 10,000 ft
- Single listing, all US Verified Purchase cards on the top sort
- Weak flame is the tail: 'insanely weak and small, even with a brand new propane cylinder', 'lack luster flame' — this is ambiance, not heat
- The regulator on the hose 'worked for one use'; one arrived without it; the flame control lives at the tank, not the can
- 'Almost blew up' — one owner reports a flare on lighting; the lid fits loosely on two units
- No rated BTU, no igniter, no 1-lb bottle option; the 5-ft hose is short
A weak flame — 'the flame was insanely weak and small, even with a brand new propane cylinder' (Apr 2024), 'a pretty lack luster flame… two different and new propane tanks' (Aug 2026), 'Advertised as taller flame' (Apr 2026). Second: the hose and regulator — 'worked for one use, then crapped out', arrived missing, wrong fitting on the maker's own tank; the control knob is on the hose at the tank. Third: 'Almost blew up' on lighting (Aug 2025); a lid that fits loosely on two units.
10 most recent critical cards read 2026-09-06 (Sep 2023 → Aug 2026): 4 of 10 weak flame, 3 regulator/hose, 1 flare-up, 1 lid, 1 no 1-lb option; 8/10 Verified Purchase, 0 Vine · critical reviews read September 2026
The concrete question, and why two pits are on this page to be understood
A reader handed us Modeno’s York fire table and a ReeQuo “Terra fab” fire bowl, both sold as concrete, and reading their listings against the materials literature turned up the finding this page exists for: “concrete” fire pits are two chemistries, and no reviewer tells you which one you are buying.
Real GFRC — glass-fiber-reinforced concrete: Portland cement, sand and alkali-resistant glass fiber, cast as one shell about half an inch thick and dyed all the way through — is what Elementi and its Modeno line, Prism Hardscapes, Starfire and Montana make. It is heavy (the Roca on our table page is 103 pounds; Elementi’s bigger tables run to 250), it does not rust, and it has one failure everyone in the trade admits in writing. Montana Fire Pits makes buyers sign a waiver whose text reads: “Concrete/GFRC fire features WILL develop charring and non-structural cracking, aka hairline cracks,” and “these characteristics can develop as soon as 20 minutes after lighting the fire.” Every concrete maker’s warranty we read excludes exactly that. It also wants resealing every few years. Montana’s own last word: “We recommend steel or aluminum for the most durability.”
The other material is a magnesium-oxide composite — mineral powder, brine and glass fiber — built as painted panels and sold under a dozen names: “lightweight concrete,” “fiber concrete,” “Envirostone,” “Terra fab,” and on the UPHA table we ranked, “Artificial Premium Concrete” with “Finish Type: Painted” in its own spec block. A US Customs ruling on Bond Manufacturing’s Envirostone classes the material as fiber-cement, not concrete. It is lighter, cheaper and ships with a touch-up pen for the coating. The materials literature on magnesium-oxychloride cement is not kind to it outdoors: strength falling by most of its value after a few wet-dry cycles, and free chloride in the matrix that corrodes any steel frame cast inside it. Under a Florida lanai in August, that is the wrong chemistry. ReeQuo’s listing gives the game away itself: “Terra fab” is described as natural inorganic mineral powder, natural brine and glass fiber — the recipe for magnesium-oxide cement — and the name is a 2015 patio-industry formula, not a ReeQuo patent.
How to tell them apart on a listing: seams between panels versus one casting; a painted finish versus colour through the body; a touch-up pen in the box (composite) versus repair grout (GFRC); the burner alloy — every GFRC maker names 304 stainless, and ReeQuo names SUS201, the low-nickel grade that pits in ordinary summer humidity; and weight, as a supporting clue only, since a 27-inch GFRC pit can be 84 pounds and a 56-inch composite table 128. Do not trust the retailer’s “Material: Concrete” field; it says concrete on both.
This finding rippled back to our fire-table page, where the Modeno Roca (real GFRC) is the SKIP on evidence and the UPHA (painted composite) is the concrete pick on evidence — and where we have now said plainly that they are not the same material.
Real concrete, thin evidence: Modeno York 27
Elementi’s Modeno line, GFRC, a 27-inch round pit at 45,000 BTU with electronic ignition and a flame-failure shutoff, 84 pounds, sold from Modeno’s own store — the one real-concrete pit small enough for a lanai a 42-inch table will not fit. It is on this page because the material is the right one and the evidence is the thinnest here: 3.4★ across 13 ratings on the propane listing, split 43 percent five-star and 40 percent one- or two-star, with the newest review two years old; the natural-gas twin listing reads 4.6 across eight, with ten in stock.
Not for you unless you accept that thirteen owners in six years is not a verdict. The whole critical tail is two dead igniters, one on a refurbished unit the seller would not take back. GFRC will hairline-crack and char near the burner, and Elementi’s warranty, like every concrete maker’s, does not cover it. And Modeno is Elementi, so the Roca, the Manhattan and the York are one maker’s word three times, not three opinions.
Modeno York 27-inch Cast Concrete Propane Fire Pit
Real concrete, thin evidenceYour pick if you want the material the concrete brands actually cast — GFRC, dyed through, monolithic — in a 27-in pit at a table's price, and you will accept that thirteen owners over six years is not a verdict on anything.
- Real GFRC — Portland concrete with glass fiber, dyed through, monolithic — not a painted panel composite
- The 27-in round pit is the size that fits a lanai a 42-in table will not
- Sold by Modeno's own store; a natural-gas version at the same price
- Electronic ignition with a flame-failure shutoff
- Thirteen ratings in six years, and 40% of them one- or two-star: 'Doesn't work… igniter doesn't work' twice
- Nothing new since 2024 on either fuel listing; the natural-gas twin has eight ratings and ten in stock
- Every concrete maker's warranty excludes the hairline cracks and charring GFRC develops near the burner
- Modeno is an Elementi line, so the Roca, the Manhattan and this are one maker's word three times
It does not light — 'Doesnt work. We set it all up and unboxed, set up rocks, and ignitor doesnt work' (Oct 2022), 'Doesn't work. Since I bought it refurbished… seller won't allow returns/refunds' (Jan 2023). That is the whole critical tail on a thirteen-rating base; the five-star cards are two-line 'we love it' notes from 2020–2024.
All critical cards on the listing read 2026-09-06: 2 of 13 ratings are one-star with text, both a dead igniter (one on a refurbished unit); nothing since 2024; 6/6 visible cards Verified Purchase, 0 Vine · critical reviews read September 2026
The concrete-look bowl: ReeQuo 31.5
Ships assembled — rocks in, tank on, light it — with a tank-cover side table, a cover, thirteen pounds of lava rock and a touch-up pen, at 77 pounds. A coastal-California owner chose it over steel because “metal firepits wouldn’t last a season,” which is the honest case for it: on a dry, covered patio it is the concrete look at a steel price. 4.6★ across 78 ratings, pooled across five products from a $110 tabletop to a $700 table — and two of its six critical reviews are reviews of fire glass, which the listing sells on the same page.
Not for you in Florida, or anywhere wet. It is the magnesium-oxide composite described above, on an SUS201 burner, and its critical tail is the failure mode the touch-up pen forecasts: “came chipped and cracked,” “the fire pit arrived cracked and chipped… drag the 100 plus pounds to Kohls to return.” Nineteen were in stock at our read.
ReeQuo 31.5-inch Terra fab Propane Fire Bowl with Tank-Cover Table
The concrete-look bowlYour pick if you want the concrete look at a steel price for a dry, covered patio — and you know it is a painted MgO composite on a 201-grade burner, sold on a rating five different products share.
- Ships assembled: rocks in, tank on, light it — the only concrete-look pit here with no build
- Cover, tank-cover table, 13 lb of lava rock and a touch-up pen in the box
- A coastal-California owner chose it over steel: 'metal firepits wouldn't last a season'
- Lighter than any real-concrete pit — 77 lb moves on the handles
- 'Arrived cracked and chipped' twice in six critical cards — the failure mode the touch-up pen in the box is for
- The rating pools five sizes from a $110 tabletop to a $700 table, and two of the six critical cards are reviews of fire glass, not a fire pit
- SUS201 burner where every other brand here names 304 — the part that gets wet and hot
- MgO composite loses most of its strength in wet-dry cycling per the materials literature; nineteen in stock at the read
It arrives cracked — 'Came chipped and cracked. Would not purchase again' (Feb 2026, the 16-in), 'The fire pit arrived cracked and chipped… drag the 100 plus pounds to Kohls to return' (Jun 2024, the 31.5-in). Second: 'Way smaller than the pictures make it seem'; the tank-cover table has no removable top. Two further critical cards are reviews of fire glass pooled into this listing.
All 6 critical cards on the listing read 2026-09-06 (Sep 2023 → Feb 2026): 2 arrived cracked/chipped, 1 size, 1 tank cover design, 2 fire-glass reviews on the pooled listing; 4/6 Verified Purchase, 0 Vine · critical reviews read September 2026
The SKIP: GasBRUH 19
The cheapest 19-inch bowl on the node, with an igniter and two grill trays in the box, on a fresh base of 4.4★ across 219 ratings pooled over the two kits. The star is fine. The tail is not. Four of the ten newest critical reviews are the grate it is sold on: “warped/melted with first use,” “the grill warped and melted over the fire,” “not suitable for cooking,” food with “a strange aftertaste.” Two more are the reason it is the skip rather than a caveat: “Dangerous gas leak from fitting… bumped the fuel line with my foot,” and “had to take apart to fix a gas leak at the venturi.” The igniter fails on two others, and lighting it with a match was, in one owner’s words, “a little explosive.” The Outland 893 is forty dollars more with a burner the maker names and no leaks in its tail. Buy that.
Your pick if nobody who wants the grill. The grate it is sold on melts, and the Outland above costs forty dollars more with a burner the maker names and a tail with no leaks in it.
- Cheapest 19-in bowl with an igniter and two grill trays in the box
- Fresh base — visible reviews 2025–2026
- Owners under burn bans call it 'just what we needed'
- 'Grill rack has warped/melted with first use', 'The grill warped and melted over the fire' — four of ten critical cards; food 'leaves a strange aftertaste'
- Two gas leaks: 'bumped the fuel line with my foot and it…' (a leak at the fitting), 'Had to take apart to fix a gas leak at the venturi'
- 'This POS never lights'; 'lighting it with a match was a little explosive' after the igniter failed
- The star pools the grate and basic kits and carries Canadian and Mexican cards; the seller is the brand's own store
The grill grate melts — 'the grill rack has warped/melted with first use' (Aug 2026), 'The grill warped and melted over the fire. It also kept the food too close to the flame' (Oct 2025), 'The grill is not suitable for cooking' (Jan 2026). Second, and worse: gas leaks — 'Dangerous gas leak from fitting… bumped the fuel line with my foot' (Feb 2026), 'Had to take apart to fix a gas leak at the venturi' (Jan 2026). Third: the igniter — 'never lights', 'a little explosive' when match-lit.
10 most recent critical cards read 2026-09-06 (Oct 2025 → Aug 2026): 4 of 10 grill grate warped or unusable, 2 gas leaks, 2 igniter, 1 propane consumption, 1 aftertaste; 10/10 Verified Purchase, 0 Vine · critical reviews read September 2026
Where you can put it
Every manual on this page carries the same two lines: outdoor use only, and a carbon-monoxide warning that an enclosed space can kill you. What “outdoors” means is defined, and it is more permissive than the blogs say. The gas-appliance standard’s shelter clause, printed in the Elementi, Kingsman and most import manuals: an overhead cover with no more than two side walls, or three walls with 30 percent of the perimeter permanently open. An open-sided pergola qualifies. The clearance is per model and the brands disagree — Outland’s manual puts the bowl 36 inches from combustibles at the sides and 80 inches under anything overhead, on a non-combustible surface only; Elementi’s says 48 inches at the sides and “do not locate this fire table under any overhead enclosure.” Read yours; never carry one brand’s number to another.
The screened porch has one honest answer. Kingsman’s fire-table manual is the only one we found that gives numbers instead of a prohibition: a screened porch of at least 96 square feet with two sides fully open, at least 64 square feet of screen, walls at least 78 inches — and “open floor space around the appliance must not be considered ventilation.” A four-walled Florida pool cage does not meet that, and no manual we read permits propane inside one. In a condo or apartment, Florida’s fire code (NFPA 1, 10.10.6.1 — “or any other purpose”) bans a gas-fired device on a balcony or under an overhang outright. A single-family home’s open deck is where the bowl goes; the lanai is where the electric heater goes.
“CSA certified” is a bullet until you find the plate. Outland names the agency on the model in its manual. Elementi’s manuals say the product “complies with” the standard and name no agency. Most imports print the words and nothing else, and a “CSA-certified burner” is not a certified appliance. The rating plate on the unit, with an agency mark, is the buyer’s check.
What to know before you buy
- Leak-test every bowl before the first light. Soapy water on the tank fitting, the hose ends and the venturi; bubbles mean stop. Two of the seven tails on this page include a leak.
- The igniter is the most-read complaint on the best bowl. If you want a button, that is the Flame King, and its tail is arrival damage instead — open the box the day it lands.
- Rated BTU is not heat you feel. Every bowl here is within two thousand BTU of the others, and the one outlet that measured them with an instrument found the headline number mid-pack. The bigger bowl is more flame, not more warmth.
- Buy concrete for the look and the rust, not the toughness. Real GFRC will hairline-crack near the burner and no warranty covers it; the composite sold as concrete should not live outdoors in Florida at all.
- The cylinder never comes inside. NFPA 1 caps propane inside a home, including an attached garage, at 2.7 pounds a cylinder; a 20-pound cylinder stays outside, upright, and not under the bowl.
Bottom line: buy the Outland 893 and a lighter, or the Mega if six chairs are the point; the Flame King if the button matters more than the box; the FireCan only if you are carrying it. Treat “concrete” as a question, not an answer, and skip the bowl that leaks.
FAQ
Propane fire pit or wood — which is better?
They are different products. A wood fire is hotter, cheaper per evening if you have wood, and banned under every burn restriction; a propane bowl lights in a second, makes no smoke or ash, is allowed during most campfire bans (check the local order — Outland's own listing says so), and puts out about 58,000 BTU that feels like a big campfire's warmth at a table's distance but not beyond it. The honest trade: propane is convenience and permission; wood is heat and the smell. If your patio is under a screen cage, propane is also the only one of the two the manufacturers' shelter rules will accept at all.
What does a propane fire pit cost to run?
It depends on how you buy the propane. A 58,000 BTU bowl burns about 2.7 pounds an hour. Fill a 20-pound cylinder at a refill station at $3.50 a gallon and that is about $2.22 an hour, or 7.4 hours from a full cylinder. Swap it at an exchange cage — a flat price of about $25 for a cylinder filled to roughly 15 pounds, which works out to about $7 a gallon — and the same bowl costs about $4.48 an hour and runs 5.6 hours. Propane holds 91,452 Btu per gallon (the EIA's figure), and an open burner burns its rated output, so the math is the same one Cuisinart's own manual confirms for its heaters.
Is a concrete fire pit actually concrete?
Sometimes. There are two chemistries sold under the word. Real GFRC — Portland cement with glass fiber, cast as one monolithic shell and dyed through — is what Elementi, Modeno, Prism and Starfire make; it is heavy, it does not rust, and every maker's warranty excludes the hairline cracks and charring it develops near the burner. The other material is a magnesium-oxide composite: mineral powder, brine and glass fiber, built as painted panels, sold as 'lightweight concrete', 'fiber concrete', 'Envirostone', 'Terra fab' or 'Artificial Premium Concrete'. It is lighter and cheaper, ships with a touch-up pen for the coating, and the materials literature shows it losing most of its strength in repeated wet-dry cycling. The tells are seams versus a single casting, a painted finish versus colour all the way through, and a touch-up pen versus repair grout in the box. The retailer's 'Material: Concrete' field is not reliable.
Can I use a propane fire pit under a pergola, a covered patio, or a screened porch?
Under an open-sided pergola or a two-walled covered porch, the manufacturers' own definition of outdoors allows it: an overhead cover with no more than two side walls, or three walls with 30 percent of the perimeter permanently open, subject to the clearance in your model's manual — which differs by brand (Outland's is 36 inches to the sides and 80 inches overhead on a non-combustible surface; Elementi's is 48 inches to the sides and says never under an overhead enclosure at all). For a screened porch, one maker publishes a number: Kingsman's fire-table manual allows it in a screened porch of at least 96 square feet with two sides fully open, at least 64 square feet of screen, and 78-inch walls, and says open floor space does not count as ventilation. A four-walled Florida pool cage is beyond what any manual we read permits for propane. In a condo or apartment, Florida's fire code bans any gas-fired device on a balcony or under an overhang outright.
Does 'CSA certified' on the listing mean anything?
Only if you can find the certificate. Three tiers exist. Some makers publish a certificate number and agency (HPC burners, OW Lee, Urbana). Outland names the agency on the model in its own manual — 'Tested by CSA International' — which is a real, checkable claim. Elementi's manuals say the product 'complies with' the ANSI Z21.97 standard and name no agency, and most import listings carry 'CSA certified' as a bullet and nothing else. A 'CSA-certified burner' is also not a certified appliance; a vessel maker can buy a listed burner and put it in an unlisted body. The buyer's check is the rating plate on the unit: a certified appliance carries an agency mark on a permanent plate.



