Patio Conversation Sets matchup

SERWALL HDPE 7-Piece Outdoor Sofa Set vs POLYWOOD Lakeside Deep Seating Set

the POLYWOOD substitute question, answered on the warranty rather than the look

SERWALL

SERWALL HDPE 7-Piece Outdoor Sofa Set

★ 4.2 · 221 owner ratings

~$670

POLYWOOD

POLYWOOD Lakeside Deep Seating Set

★ 4.4 · 13 owner ratings · early data

~$2,149

Tale of the tape — this fight hasn't been booked yet

No showdown has ruled between these two. What follows is the verified data, not a verdict.

Ringside notes

This is the only matchup in outdoor seating that search demand actually asks for, and it is not close: "serwall vs polywood" is the second suggestion Google offers for the bare word "serwall", ahead of the brand's own product lines. The reason is that SERWALL sells the POLYWOOD look in genuine HDPE at roughly a quarter of the money, and buyers know it. One SERWALL owner writes the query out longhand: "We just put a beautiful new pool in the backyard and I was in need of a lot of patio furniture. I really wanted polywood brand furniture but the price point was hard to swallow."

On material the substitution is real. Both are HDPE, neither rusts, rots or needs refinishing, and the SERWALL set lands at about $96 a seat against roughly $537 for the POLYWOOD — with a published 360 lb per-seat capacity that POLYWOOD does not state on its Amazon listing, and 200 lb of shipped weight that will not move in wind.

The gap is the paperwork, and reading it properly cuts both ways. POLYWOOD is the only brand in this category with a real published warranty — but its famous 20 years is the LUMBER term. Its own residential schedule gives welds and joints 5 years, powder coat 5, hardware 5, woven inserts 5, sling fabric 3, and the fabric on a cushion or pillow ONE year. On a cushioned deep-seating set the part that fails first carries the shortest term on the page. SERWALL offers no warranty at all — its "1000 Days Trial" is a returns window — so the honest comparison is 20 years on plastic and 1 year on fabric against nothing on either.

Two things decide it. SERWALL carries the worst one-star share in the field at 12%, and a repeat buyer reports the same listing arriving a year later with "all of the framing… thinner composite. Cushions are thinner and less cushioned" — a silent build change no star average will show you. POLYWOOD's Amazon base is 13 ratings, which is early data and cannot carry a verdict at all, and it ships in 2–3 weeks. Neither wins our roundup: the belt there went to an aluminium set for a reason neither of these addresses.

Tale of the tape

ModelBest forOwner ratingWarrantyPrice
SERWALL HDPE 7-Piece Outdoor Sofa Set product photoSERWALL HDPE 7-Piece Outdoor Sofa Set
The HDPE that isn't POLYWOOD4.2★ / 221 (Amazon)Not stated — seller offers a '1000 Days Trial'Check price →
POLYWOOD Lakeside Deep Seating Set product photoPOLYWOOD Lakeside Deep Seating Set
The warranty benchmark — not ranked4.4★ / 13 (Amazon) — early data20-yr lumber / 5-yr hardware / 1-yr cushion fabricCheck price →

Prices move constantly — any Amazon price shown is as of the date noted and subject to change; tap through for today's number.

Prices move constantly — tap through for today's number.

What would decide it

  • Owner proof: SERWALL HDPE 7-Piece Outdoor Sofa Set reads 4.2★ across 221 owners; POLYWOOD Lakeside Deep Seating Set reads 4.4★ across 13. Depth of sample matters as much as the star.
  • The money: SERWALL HDPE 7-Piece Outdoor Sofa Set streets ~$670, POLYWOOD Lakeside Deep Seating Set ~$2,149 — MSRPs, not sale lows, decide the tier.
  • SERWALL HDPE 7-Piece Outdoor Sofa Set — your pick if: you want poly-lumber substance without POLYWOOD money and you will accept a listing whose build has visibly moved — check what arrives against the photos before you assemble it.
  • POLYWOOD Lakeside Deep Seating Set — your pick if: nothing here, yet — it is the yardstick this roundup measures warranties against, not a pick. Buy it when you want the schedule, and read which component each term covers.

The full cards

SERWALL HDPE 7-Piece Outdoor Sofa Set

The HDPE that isn't POLYWOOD

Your pick if you want poly-lumber substance without POLYWOOD money and you will accept a listing whose build has visibly moved — check what arrives against the photos before you assemble it.

4.2 · 221 owner ratingsAmazon · August 2026
“This set is great value for the money! Highly durable material. The cushions are a little on the thin side and it's kind of annoying to put together but overall it's great. Looks beautiful and was perfect for our screened in porch.”— Krissy van Niekerk, Amazon
Pros
  • Genuine HDPE at about $96 a seat, and owners say outright that it is the POLYWOOD substitute: 'We just put a beautiful new pool in the backyard… I really wanted polywood brand furniture but the price point was hard to swallow'
  • A 360 lb per-seat capacity — the only set here that publishes one — and 200 lb of shipped weight, which is the heft the budget rattan sets do not have
  • A one-year owner update reports it 'still look brand new after a summer season and long winter', with the cushions brought in
Cons
  • The worst one-star share in the field at 12%, on the second-priciest pick here
  • The '1000 Days Trial' is a returns window, not a warranty — no term is published
  • Seller support draws repeated complaints: a promised replacement never sent, a shorted arm piece
What owners complain aboutDefect reports

Two repeat buyers report the same listing shipping a worse set a year later - thinner composite framing, thinner cushions - which no star average will show you. The cushions are the loudest complaint otherwise ('I hate the cushions! HATE THEM!'), several find the seat leans back further than expected, and one reports the cushion casings deteriorating so the covers cannot be laundered without losing the stuffing.

2 of the 10 visible critical cards are the same-listing downgrade, 5 are cushions; tail is 25 of 221 · critical reviews read August 2026

Check price at Amazon →
✓ Safety: no active recallNo CPSC recall found for SERWALL in the full recall database (10,011 records, checked August 2026).

POLYWOOD Lakeside Deep Seating Set

The warranty benchmark — not ranked

Your pick if nothing here, yet — it is the yardstick this roundup measures warranties against, not a pick. Buy it when you want the schedule, and read which component each term covers.

4.4 · 13 owner ratingsAmazon · August 2026 · too thin to judge
“It has been 3 weeks since contacting Polywood regarding shipping my chairs with no screws. I eventually went to Lowe's and cobbled together enough hardware to make the chairs work, but for nearly 2 grand this is outrageously bad customer service and is inexcusible.”— JOSH S., Amazon
Pros
  • The only genuine published warranty in this field, and by a distance — POLYWOOD's residential schedule is a real contractual document where every rival offers nothing at all
  • Genuine POLYWOOD lumber rather than rattan over a tube frame: it will not splinter, crack, chip, peel or rot, and at 172.5 lb it does not move in wind
  • POLYWOOD warrants IN-POOL furniture as its own five-year class — the only maker in this category that concedes in writing that proximity to pool water changes the durability question
Cons
  • 🚨 READ THE WARRANTY LADDER, NOT THE HEADLINE. The famous 20 years is the LUMBER term. POLYWOOD's own schedule gives welds and joints 5 years, powder coat 5, hardware 5, woven inserts 5, sling fabric 3 — and cushion fabric ONE year. On a cushioned deep-seating set, the part you will replace first has the shortest term on the page
  • A 13-rating Amazon base is early data and cannot carry a verdict, which is why this set is shown here and not ranked. It also ships in 2–3 weeks, not 2–3 days
  • About $537 a seat, three times the priciest ranked pick here — and a 1-star owner reports a set arriving with no screws and three weeks of silence: 'for nearly 2 grand this is outrageously bad customer service'
Check price at Amazon →
✓ Safety: no active recallNo CPSC recall found for POLYWOOD in the full recall database (10,011 records, checked August 2026).

FAQ

Is SERWALL as good as POLYWOOD?

On the material, close enough to matter: both are genuine HDPE, so neither rusts, rots, splinters or needs refinishing, and SERWALL runs about $96 a seat against roughly $537 for the POLYWOOD. On the paperwork, no. POLYWOOD publishes a real itemised warranty and SERWALL publishes none — its "1000 Days Trial" is a returns window, not a warranty. But read POLYWOOD's schedule before you pay for it: the headline 20 years covers the lumber, while hardware and powder coat get 5 years and cushion fabric gets 1. The bigger mark against SERWALL is consistency — it carries the worst one-star share in our field at 12%, and a repeat buyer reports the same listing shipping thinner framing a year later.

What is comparable to POLYWOOD but cheaper?

SERWALL is the substitute buyers actually reach for, and its own owners say so unprompted. It is genuine HDPE rather than a rattan-over-tube-frame set pretending to be poly-lumber, it publishes a 360 lb per-seat capacity, and it weighs 200 lb, which is the heft that separates real poly-lumber from moulded resin. The trade you are making is the warranty and the consistency: no published term at all, and a documented instance of the listing's build changing between orders. Check what arrives against the listing photos before you assemble it.

Does POLYWOOD's 20-year warranty cover the cushions?

No — cushion fabric is warranted for one year. POLYWOOD's published residential schedule is a component ladder, not a single figure: POLYWOOD lumber 20 years, metal frame welds and joints 5, powder coat 5, hardware 5, woven inserts 5, sling fabric 3, and the fabric on a cushion, pillow or umbrella canopy 1 year. It also warrants in-pool furniture as its own 5-year class. That is not a criticism of POLYWOOD, which publishes the most detailed schedule in the category by a distance — it is a warning that the headline number in outdoor furniture is always the frame number, and the frame is the part that was going to survive anyway.

Full fight coverage

Every number on this page derives from the same verified data that renders our showdowns — dated owner-rating reads, MSRP-based tiers, and rulings only where a real fight happened. Data last verified: August 2026. Methodology and monetization disclosure: how we test.