Robotic Pool Cleaners matchup

Aiper Scuba S1 vs Dolphin Nautilus CC Plus

cordless convenience vs the corded workhorse

Aiper

Aiper Scuba S1

Welterweight Division

★ 4.3 · 881 owner ratings

~$530 (MSRP $699)

Maytronics

Dolphin Nautilus CC Plus

★ 3.5 · 3,299 owner ratings

~$849

Tale of the tape — this fight hasn't been booked yet

No showdown has ruled between these two. What follows is the verified data, not a verdict.

Ringside notes

The most-asked cross-brand question in pool robots isn't really about these two machines — it's about the cord. No showdown has ruled between them (they shared only our pound-for-pound roundup, where the Beatbot AquaSense 2 took best overall), so this is a tale of the tape between two philosophies. The Scuba S1 is cordless convenience with the deepest proof in its division: 4.3★ across 881 owners at ~$530, happiest in light-debris pools up to ~1,600 sq ft, done in 150 minutes and back on its charger. The Nautilus CC Plus is the corded workhorse: a 3,299-owner base (at an honest, middling 3.5★), no battery to charge, age, or replace, and the stamina to run as long as a big pool needs — the reason it took "best for big pools" in that roundup. The trade is exact: the S1 asks you to charge it; the CC Plus asks you to manage a cable every session, forever. Small-to-mid pool, light debris: S1. Big pool, heavy debris, decade of ownership: the cord is the boring right answer.

Tale of the tape

ModelBest forFiltrationOwner ratingWarrantySurfacesPrice
Aiper Scuba S1 product photoAiper Scuba S1
Best value180 µm (optional 3 µm MicroMesh)4.3★ / 881 (Vine-padded)2 yr (24 mo, US); accessories 6 mo, filters 3 moAll surfaces incl. vinyl (silicone brush)~$529.99typical at Aiper directCheck price →
Dolphin Nautilus CC Plus product photoDolphin Nautilus CC Plus
Best for big poolsUltra-fine filters (µm not published)3.5★ / 3,2991 yearAll surfaces incl. vinyl (active scrubbing)Check price →

Prices move constantly — any Amazon price shown is as of the date noted and subject to change; tap through for today's number.

Prices move constantly — tap through for today's number.

What would decide it

  • Owner proof: Aiper Scuba S1 reads 4.3★ across 881 owners; Dolphin Nautilus CC Plus reads 3.5★ across 3,299. Depth of sample matters as much as the star.
  • The money: Aiper Scuba S1 streets ~$530, Dolphin Nautilus CC Plus ~$849 — MSRPs, not sale lows, decide the tier.
  • The hidden consumable: Aiper Scuba S1 battery — Not stated; Dolphin Nautilus CC Plus — not stated. A robot whose battery can't be replaced IS the consumable.
  • Aiper Scuba S1 — your pick if: you want a long-runtime cordless robot at about $530 and you judge it on the machine rather than the star average — its deep 4.3★/881 base carries a heavy free-product Vine share (four of thirteen visible cards at the 19 October 2026 read), so the number is softer than it looks; best for light-debris pools, not heavy silt or the biggest pools.
  • Dolphin Nautilus CC Plus — your pick if: you have a big pool (up to 40 ft) and want a corded workhorse that runs as long as you need with no battery to replace — as long as you'll manage a cord and live with flaky Wi-Fi.

The full cards

Aiper Scuba S1

Best value

Your pick if you want a long-runtime cordless robot at about $530 and you judge it on the machine rather than the star average — its deep 4.3★/881 base carries a heavy free-product Vine share (four of thirteen visible cards at the 19 October 2026 read), so the number is softer than it looks; best for light-debris pools, not heavy silt or the biggest pools.

4.3 · 881 owner ratingsAmazon · 2026-10-19 · listing-wide base · incentivised base · global base
“I picked up a S1 a few weeks ago and have been very impressed. It cleans just as good as my old Maytronics, for half the price and no cord.”— JJ_Tex, verified owner (Trouble Free Pool) · Verified owner
Pros
  • Excellent price-to-performance
  • Cleans the waterline too
  • Long runtime for the price (~270 min floor-only; ~150 min combined)
  • Easy to live with
Cons
  • Testers ding fine-debris pickup on very silty pools
  • Best for light-debris pools; weaker than corded models
  • Navigation/app less refined than the premium tier
What owners complain aboutLifespan

The durability reports are the thing to read, and almost all of them are European: batteries dead inside a year, units failing after one or two seasons, one first defect after five uses. The two US cards are different - one owner ran it three times on an 8,000-gallon pool and the pool was still dirty. Worth weighing against a headline rating that is itself heavily Vine-seeded.

68 written critical reviews against a base of 881 at the 2026-10-19 pass; the histogram puts 10% of the ratings at one star. The newest still lead with units that stop charging or fail within months, several of them reviewed in Germany · critical reviews read 2026-10-19

~$529.99typical at Aiper direct · checked 2026-10-19
Check price at Aiper direct →

Also at: Amazon

⚠ Safety watchNo recall on the Scuba S1. Aiper HAS recalled two other cordless robots for charging fires: Elite Pro (#23784, Aug 2023) and Seagull Pro (#25187, Mar 2025) — both records opened; neither names the S1. CPSC recall API re-checked 2026-09-04 (saferproducts.gov/RestWebServices/Recall, ProductName=Aiper → 2 records, both other models). Class queries the same sitting: "robotic pool cleaner" and "pool cleaner" return only Aiper Seagull Pro #25187; "pool skimmer" returns 0. Positive control: "Aiper" returns its two robot recalls (#23784 Elite Pro 2023, #25187 Seagull Pro 2025), so a zero is a real answer. Buy current stock, use the supplied charger, and charge away from anything flammable. CPSC recall API re-checked 2026-10-19 (saferproducts.gov/RestWebServices/Recall): ProductName=Beatbot 0 and RecallTitle=Beatbot 0; ProductName=Aiper and RecallTitle=Aiper return only #23784 (Elite Pro, 2023) and #25187 (Seagull Pro, 2025); RecallTitle=Maytronics 0, and ProductName=Dolphin returns two unrelated records (#03081 novelty lighters, 2003; #95123 Dolphin Baby Float, 1995); the class query RecallTitle="Robotic Pool" now returns three — #26372 (Wybotics, 2026-04-09), #25187 and #23784. Positive control ProductName=heater returned 183 records with no error object.

Dolphin Nautilus CC Plus

Best for big pools

The listing's size menu spans 9 models — this card is the Nautilus CC Plus. Check the size before you add to cart.

Your pick if you have a big pool (up to 40 ft) and want a corded workhorse that runs as long as you need with no battery to replace — as long as you'll manage a cord and live with flaky Wi-Fi.

3.5 · 3,299 owner ratingsAmazon · 2026-10-19 · listing-wide base · global base
Pro review “Shorter warranty. Fewer features. Less automation. The new Dolphin Nautilus CC Plus is here, and it isn't the deal it used to be.”Hands-on test of the 2026 Nautilus CC Plus in The Pool Nerd's own test pool (published 2026-07-31; "I've tested over 40 robotic pool cleaners in the last five years in our test pool"). Verdict: 'Pool Nerd Disapproved' — the warranty was cut from 2.5 years to 1, the NanoFilters and waterline cleaning are gone, and the price did not drop to match. His finding independently corroborates the 1-year warranty this card records from maytronics.com.— Justin D., The Pool Nerd
Pros
  • Runs as long as you need — no battery
  • Cleans well when it runs — owners and the tail agree on that, on a deep owner base (3,299 ratings, pooled across the Nautilus family on this listing)
  • Great for large pools
Cons
  • Amazon's buy box on this listing comes and goes — in September it was suppressed ("High price") while Maytronics sold the same Wi-Fi SKU direct for less — so check the maker's store before you buy here
  • You manage a floating cord
  • Doesn't always hit the waterline as aggressively as top cordless models
  • Owners report flaky Wi-Fi/app connectivity — the main drag on its 3.5★ rating
What owners complain aboutLifespan

It cleans well and owners say so in the same breath — the complaint is that it does not keep doing it. Power supplies and motors failing inside the first year or two recur, with slow warranty replacement (one owner waited eight weeks), and a second, smaller theme is getting stuck on steps and in corners. Several also note it handles fine silt better than large debris.

899 written critical reviews against a base of 3,299 at the 2026-10-19 pass; the histogram puts 25% of the ratings at one star. The newest still lead with power supplies, cables and drive motors failing at one to three years, and two say quality dropped between generations · critical reviews read 2026-10-19

Check price at Amazon →
✓ Safety: no active recallCorded — no onboard lithium battery, so none of the charging-fire risk of cordless robots. No CPSC recall on any Maytronics/Dolphin pool robot — CPSC recall API re-checked 2026-09-04 (saferproducts.gov/RestWebServices/Recall, ProductName=Maytronics → 0; "Dolphin pool" → 0). Class queries the same sitting: "robotic pool cleaner" and "pool cleaner" return only Aiper Seagull Pro #25187; "pool skimmer" returns 0. Positive control: "Aiper" returns its two robot recalls (#23784 Elite Pro 2023, #25187 Seagull Pro 2025), so a zero is a real answer. CPSC recall API re-checked 2026-10-19 (saferproducts.gov/RestWebServices/Recall): ProductName=Beatbot 0 and RecallTitle=Beatbot 0; ProductName=Aiper and RecallTitle=Aiper return only #23784 (Elite Pro, 2023) and #25187 (Seagull Pro, 2025); RecallTitle=Maytronics 0, and ProductName=Dolphin returns two unrelated records (#03081 novelty lighters, 2003; #95123 Dolphin Baby Float, 1995); the class query RecallTitle="Robotic Pool" now returns three — #26372 (Wybotics, 2026-04-09), #25187 and #23784. Positive control ProductName=heater returned 183 records with no error object.

FAQ

Which is better, the Aiper Scuba S1 or the Dolphin Nautilus CC Plus?

No fight between them has been ruled — in our pound-for-pound roundup both lost best-overall to the Beatbot AquaSense 2, with the S1 taking best value and the CC Plus best for big pools. The real decision is cordless convenience (S1) versus corded stamina and no battery to age (CC Plus).

Why does the CC Plus rate only 3.6★ with so many owners?

A 3,299-owner base at 3.6★ is the profile of a long-selling workhorse: enormous proof volume, honest wear-and-tear complaints included. We'd weight it differently than a young 4.5★ on 50 reviews — it's the most battle-tested data point on this card, not the prettiest.

What does the cord actually cost me day to day?

Handling: you deploy and retrieve a tethered robot each session and occasionally untwist the cable. What it buys: unlimited runtime for big pools, no charging window, and no battery that fades into a replacement decision — the CC Plus will run the same in year six as year one.

Full fight coverage

Every number on this page derives from the same verified data that renders our showdowns — dated owner-rating reads, MSRP-based tiers, and rulings only where a real fight happened. Data last verified: 2026-10-19. Methodology and monetization disclosure: how we test.