Lightweight · $999–$1,400
Outdoor Kitchen showdown
The Best Built-In Kamado Grills Under $1,500 (2026): Three Numbers for the Mason, and the Warranty That Says What the Egg Sits On

Some links here are affiliate links — if you buy through them, we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you (sometimes with a discount for you). It never changes which products we recommend — and we name the SKIPs to prove it.
- contenders compared
- 5
- owner ratings · Amazon
- 59
- data last verified
- September 2026
A built-in kamado is a ceramic grill with its cart taken away, set into a hole in your countertop, standing on something on a shelf below it. That sentence is the whole buying problem. The hole has to fit that head and no other, the shelf has to sit at that head’s height and no other, and what the ceramic stands on is written into the warranty. So we did not rank these five heads by how they cook — the testers have, and we quote them — but by whether you can build one in once, keep it under warranty, and service it through a cabinet door. We read the makers’ own cutout drawings, install sheets and warranty documents, and signed in to read every Amazon listing with its critical reviews.
This is the Lightweight division: ceramic heads sold without a stand, under $1,500. Big Green Egg’s XL and 2XL, the Classic Joe III and Big Joe, Primo’s larger ovals and Komodo Kamado’s table-top models are the Welterweight fight. Kamados sold with a stand or cart are in the kamado grill showdown; gas drop-ins are in the built-in gas grill showdown.
The short version:
🏆 Best overall: Kamado Joe Classic Joe II Standalone — the ceramic head Serious Eats named the best of sixteen kamados it tested, sold by Kamado Joe as “a built-in ready grill” for $1,400. Its slide-out ash drawer is the feature that matters most once the grill is set into a counter. The catch: every Amazon offer we read was a marketplace seller, which Kamado Joe’s warranty says voids it. Buy it from Kamado Joe.
📦 Best built-in package: Big Green Egg Large Built-in Package — the only head here whose maker ships the support its warranty requires: the EGG, its Table Nest, the convEGGtor and the tools, $1,400 direct. Ash comes out from above.
📐 Most cooking area: Primo Oval LG 300 — 300 square inches on an oval grid, the most here. Its Amazon rating is a decade-old family base we will not quote, and the seller is small.
🧱 Strictest install rules: Coyote Asado — no combustible island, 24 inches to anything combustible in every direction. One unwritten rating and no test.
⛔ The SKIP: Primo Large Round — the cheapest at $999, and the one a tester already failed: a lid that “didn’t latch and was off-center due to a manufacturing issue.”
Quick comparison
Every column here comes from the maker’s own drawing or install sheet, not from the listing. The cutout is the hole in the countertop; the shelf drop is how far below the counter top the support shelf sits; the rear clearance is what the dome needs behind it to open.
| Model | Best for | Cutout | Shelf drop | Rear clearance | Sits on | Cooking area | Equipped price | Price |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Best overall built-in | 22.8 in circle + 4.7 × 9.3 in latch notch | 14.4 in (Classic III: 17.3 in) | 1.6 in past the hinge, dome open | 3 ceramic feet — in the box per the Amazon listing; Kamado Joe's page does not list them (KJ-CFR, $13.99 each) | 250 sq in (18 in grate) | $1,399.99 from Kamado Joe, feet and heat deflectors in the box per the listing | ~$1,399.99typical at Kamado JoeCheck price → | |
| Best built-in package | 21.25 in round | 15.00 in, on the Table Nest | 20.0 in from the hole center to the wall | Table Nest, included | 262 sq in (18.25 in grid) | $1,399.99, nest and convEGGtor included | ~$1,399.99typical at Big Green EggCheck price → | |
| Most cooking area | 25¼ × 25½ in oval with hinge notch (25¼ × 19½ without) | 13 in with notch; 10¼ in without | 12 in behind; 2 in all round | 4 ceramic feet, $39 a set, sold separately | 300 sq in (15 × 22 in grid); 495 with the optional rack | $1,338 with feet, before a deflector | ~$1,299typical at AmazonCheck price → | |
| Strictest install rules | 22½ in circle | 17 in | 8 in for the hood | Not stated; C3SLV sleeve sold separately | 254 sq in | $1,299 before deflector and sleeve | ~$1,299typical at AmazonCheck price → | |
| The SKIP | 22½ × 28½ in with hinge notch (22½ in circle without) | 17 in with notch; 14 in without | 10 in behind; 2 in all round | 4 ceramic feet, $39 a set, sold separately | 280 sq in | $1,188 with feet, deflector and rack | ~$999typical at AmazonCheck price → |
Prices move constantly — any Amazon price shown is as of the date noted and subject to change; tap through for today's number.
How to read the ratings on this page. There are almost none, and that is the finding. Big Green Egg does not sell the EGG on Amazon, so there is no independent owner base for it. The Classic Joe II Standalone’s listing carries 4.3★ across 59 ratings, its own base and early data. The Primo Oval LG’s listing reads 4.3 stars from 41, but the reviews behind it are about the Primo Junior and XL and the newest is from August 2022, so we do not quote it as a rating. The Coyote has one star rating with no words behind it, and the Primo Round has none. The ranking rests on the makers’ documents, the testers, and who is selling.
The three numbers your mason needs
A kamado island is built to the head, and the head’s maker publishes the drawing. Four of the five here do. This is the table no ranking page prints correctly, from the documents themselves:
| Head | Hole in the counter | Top of counter to support shelf | Behind the grill | Stands on |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Kamado Joe Classic Joe II | 22.8 in circle + 4.7 × 9.3 in latch notch, 3.6 in from the edge | 14.4 in (Classic III: 17.3) | 1.6 in beyond the hinge, dome open | 3 ceramic feet (in the box, per the listing) |
| Big Green Egg Large | 21.25 in round | 15.00 in, on the Table Nest | 20.0 in from the hole’s center | Table Nest, in the package |
| Primo Oval LG 300 | 25¼ × 25½ in with hinge notch; 25¼ × 19½ without | 13 in with notch; 10¼ without | 12 in, plus 2 in all round | 4 ceramic feet, sold separately |
| Coyote Asado | 22½ in circle | 17 in | 8 in for the hood | Not stated; sleeve sold separately |
| Primo Large Round | 22½ × 28½ in with hinge notch; 22½ circle without | 17 in with notch; 14 without | 10 in, plus 2 in all round | 4 ceramic feet, sold separately |
Sources: Big Green Egg “Large EGG Built-in Specs” (PDF dated 2017-12-21); Kamado Joe’s Built-in Grill Guide table (identical to the Big Joe III manual, 2024); Primo’s LG and Round “new hinge” cut-out templates (Empire Comfort Systems, May 2021) and spec sheets; Coyote’s C1CHCS sell sheet (June 2020).
Three things in that table decide builds. The Series II vs Series III trap: Kamado Joe’s Classic III sits about three inches taller than the II — 17.3 inches to the shelf against 14.4 — so an island framed for one will not take the other at the same counter line. Pick the exact head before anyone sets the shelf. The hole is not the support: Big Green Egg’s hole is sized to “ensure small air gap between ceramics and surrounding surface,” and its warranty does not cover an EGG suspended “by any means other than an approved BGE Nest or solid, non-combustible surface under the base.” The counter must not carry the grill. The notch is a choice: Primo publishes two templates for each oval, and the one with the hinge notch lets the grill’s lip sit lower in the counter at the cost of a deeper shelf.
And two of the pages ranking for this question print the wrong hole. One gives the Large EGG a “25-inch wide by 27-inch deep opening” and prices an EGG-branded built-in frame we could not find on Big Green Egg’s site; another says 18-inch kamados need a “20 by 20 inch cutout.” Big Green Egg’s sheet says 21.25 inches round; Kamado Joe’s says 22.8.
What it can sit in: every maker contradicts itself
Nobody publishes a clearance-to-combustibles number for a residential kamado island except Coyote. The others give a rule and then undercut it.
- Big Green Egg’s built-in sheet says “EGG must be installed in a non-combustible environment.” Its warranty allows a combustible surface if the EGG is on a Metal Nest, a Metal Table Nest or “a 2” non-porous concrete block,” and Big Green Egg sells wooden EGG tables of its own. Build to the sheet.
- Kamado Joe’s built-in guide says to build with “non-flammable building materials,” then, one line later: “If your Kamado Joe is going on/over a wood surface or in a built-in application, the grill must be placed on ceramic feet.” Its Big Joe III manual says on one page “Grill MUST be on the ground. Do not place grill on tables or counters” and gives a built-in guide three pages later. Build non-combustible and use the feet.
- Primo’s owner’s manual is the permissive one: “For safe use on wooden tables or any surfaces other than a metal stand, always set your Primo on the ceramic feet.” Primo sells cypress and teak tables itself.
- Coyote is the only one with no contradiction and a number: the Asado “can NOT be built into a combustible material island and there is no insulated jacket available,” and “Combustible material can not be within 24” of the grills frame. This applies to all directions - horizontal & vertical.”
The practical rule: masonry, block, steel stud or cement board, with the ceramic standing on feet or a nest on a shelf and air moving under it, and nothing combustible overhead. Under a covered lanai, the inspector decides.
The warranty, read for who sold it
| Maker | Ceramic | Metal | Short-term parts | Channel clause |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Kamado Joe | Lifetime, original purchaser | 5 yr metal and cast iron | 3 yr deflectors and stones; 2 yr gaskets and thermometer | “Purchasing any Kamado Joe® product through an unauthorized dealer voids the warranty” |
| Big Green Egg | Limited lifetime | 5 yr grate, grid, rEGGulator, band and hinge | 3 yr convEGGtor and stones | Authorized Dealer receipt required; unauthorized resellers “NOT COVERED” |
| Primo | Limited lifetime | 5 yr against rust-through | 1 yr cast iron; 30 days gaskets and thermometer | Claims through “your local dealer”; parts shipped at your expense |
| Coyote | Lifetime (Coyote’s Asado copy, via BBQGuys) | 5 yr metal and cast iron | 1 yr wood parts and thermometer | Honored “only… if the products are purchased through an authorized dealer/distributor” |
Kamado Joe pays shipping on warranty parts; Big Green Egg and Primo ship at the owner’s expense — on a 150- to 200-pound ceramic, that is the difference that matters. One Primo owner reported $250 in shipping for a replacement base and dome. Kamado Joe and Big Green Egg both require registration. None of them pays labor, and on a built-in, labor is getting the old ceramic out of the counter.
Best overall: Kamado Joe Classic Joe II Standalone
The Classic Joe II is the kamado the testers keep crowning, and Kamado Joe sells its head without the cart as “a built-in ready grill” for $1,400: 250 square inches, the two-tier Divide & Conquer system, the Air Lift hinge that takes most of the dome’s weight, the AMP firebox, a stainless latch and a slide-out ash drawer. Serious Eats tested sixteen kamados with timed assembly, a 225°F wing smoke, a reverse-sear to 600°F and a cleaning test, and named the Classic Joe II the best: “Like most ceramic kamado grills, this one held onto heat beautifully; we didn’t have to adjust the dampers once after finding our target temperature.” The unit tested was on its cart; this is the same ceramic head without it, and the same page notes “you can knock a few hundred dollars off the price if you opt for the version without a stand.”
Why it wins a built-in and not only a cookout: the ash. “All the ash gathered in its bottom drawer, which we just had to slide out and dump afterward,” Serious Eats wrote — and against the Big Green Egg, the same testers “had to remove all of the internal parts of the grill to clean it, a task that was easier with the Kamado Joe.” In a built-in you cannot tip the grill or roll it; a drawer you slide out through a cabinet door is the difference between a weekly chore and a monthly one. Kamado Joe’s guide says to keep front access to it, so line up the door.
Not for you if you are buying it on Amazon. When we read the standalone’s listing on 22 September, 4.3★ across 59 ratings sat behind nine offers, none from Kamado Joe and none from Amazon, and the critical reviews are freight and channel: a head that arrived destroyed, a torn gasket and a patched band where Kamado Joe told the owner to work with Amazon. Kamado Joe’s warranty voids a purchase “through an unauthorized dealer.” Buy it from Kamado Joe, open the carton for the three ceramic feet the listing says ship with it (Kamado Joe’s own page does not list them; they are $13.99 each if yours are missing), and frame to 14.4 inches — not to a Classic III’s 17.3.

Best overall built-in · The Classic Joe II head with no cart, sold by Kamado Joe as "a built-in ready grill": 250 sq in, the slide-out ash drawer, the Air Lift hinge and Kamado Joe's own published cutout — the same ceramic Serious Eats named the best kamado it tested, on its cart
Your pick if you are building the island once and want the head testers keep crowning, with an ash drawer you can slide out through a cabinet door instead of fishing ash out from above — bought from Kamado Joe, because every Amazon offer we read was a marketplace seller.
Picked before we checked what this link pays us.
“Like most ceramic kamado grills, this one held onto heat beautifully; we didn’t have to adjust the dampers once after finding our target temperature.”

Kamado Joe Classic Joe II Standalone (built-in, KJ23NRHC)
Best overall built-inYour pick if you are building the island once and want the head testers keep crowning, with an ash drawer you can slide out through a cabinet door instead of fishing ash out from above — bought from Kamado Joe, because every Amazon offer we read was a marketplace seller.
Pro review “Like most ceramic kamado grills, this one held onto heat beautifully; we didn’t have to adjust the dampers once after finding our target temperature.”— Rochelle Bilow, Serious Eats
- The same ceramic head Serious Eats named the best kamado of 16 tested: "we didn’t have to adjust the dampers once after finding our target temperature"
- A slide-out ash drawer — the one daily chore in a built-in that the other heads here make you do from above
- Kamado Joe publishes the whole cutout: circle, latch notch, notch setback, drop to the shelf and hinge clearance
- Sold direct by Kamado Joe at $1,399.99, the channel its warranty is written around
- Kamado Joe's own page does not list the ceramic feet a built-in requires among the included accessories; the Amazon listing says they ship in the box — check the carton, they are $13.99 each if not
- Every Amazon offer we read was a marketplace seller, and Kamado Joe says "Purchasing any Kamado Joe® product through an unauthorized dealer voids the warranty"
- Frame the island for this head and a Classic III will not drop into it: the III needs 17.3 in to the shelf, not 14.4
- The ash drawer needs front access in the cabinet — the built-in guide says so, and a door that does not line up with it defeats the feature
- Gaskets and thermometer carry two years; Kamado Joe pays shipping on warranty parts but not labor
Freight and the channel, not the cooking: a head that arrived destroyed in thin packing; a torn gasket, a handle that would not fit and a patched band, where Kamado Joe told the owner to work with Amazon; a roughly 200-page manual mostly in other languages; a German buyer missing parts.
The critical cards read signed-in 2026-09-22: 5 of 59 · critical reviews read 2026-09-22
Best built-in package: Big Green Egg Large Built-in Package
Big Green Egg is the only maker here that sells a built-in SKU with everything its warranty asks for already in the carton: the Large EGG, its Table Nest, the convEGGtor for indirect cooking, a Grid Gripper, an ash tool, lump charcoal and starters, for $1,400 from biggreenegg.com, “intended for use by contractors and owners with custom EGG housing.” It is also the most-tested head on the page. Serious Eats named the Large the best Big Green Egg and found “the on-lid thermometer matched our external probe the whole way through.” CNET and Good Housekeeping have both cooked on the Large, and Consumer Reports’ engineers lab-tested the Big Green Egg; CNET’s line that you must buy from a local dealer is out of date, since Big Green Egg now sells direct.
And the drawing is the best on the page: one sheet, three numbers — a 21.25-inch hole, 15.00 inches to the shelf with the EGG on its nest, 20.0 inches from the hole’s center to the wall behind.
Not for you if you want the ash to leave through a door. The EGG’s ash is raked out through the lower draft door with the ash tool, or the internals come out to reach it, which is why Serious Eats rated the Kamado Joe easier to clean. The warranty ships replacements at your expense, lighter fluid voids it, and the spec sheet’s “non-combustible environment” is stricter than the warranty’s wood-table allowance, so build to the sheet. There is no Amazon listing and so no independent owner base; the evidence on this card is the maker’s documents and the testers.

Big Green Egg Large Built-in Package
Best built-in packageYour pick if you want the EGG, you want the support its warranty demands already in the carton, and your mason wants a one-page drawing with three numbers on it — 21.25 in hole, 15.00 in to the shelf, 20.0 in to the back wall.
Pro review “It maintains a target temperature beautifully thanks to the ceramic construction, and the on-lid thermometer matched our external probe the whole way through.”— Rochelle Bilow, Serious Eats
- The only built-in SKU on the page that ships with the support its warranty requires — the Table Nest is in the box
- Big Green Egg publishes a dated one-page built-in drawing: hole, drop to the shelf and rear-wall distance
- Tested more than any head here: Serious Eats found "the on-lid thermometer matched our external probe the whole way through"
- Sold direct at biggreenegg.com, so the Authorized Dealer receipt the warranty asks for is the order confirmation
- Ash comes out from above: Serious Eats "had to remove all of the internal parts of the grill to clean it, a task that was easier with the Kamado Joe"
- The warranty does not cover an EGG hung by its shoulders in the countertop hole — "attempting to suspend the EGG by any means other than an approved BGE Nest or solid, non-combustible surface under the base"
- The spec sheet demands a "non-combustible environment" while the warranty allows a wood table with a Metal Table Nest; build to the stricter one
- Warranty replacements ship at the purchaser's expense, and lighter fluid voids it
- Not on Amazon; no independent owner base to read
No independent owner base exists for this package. The documented catches are in Big Green Egg's own papers: the suspend-the-EGG exclusion, the non-combustible line on the spec sheet against the warranty's wood-table allowance, and replacements shipped at the owner's expense.
Not applicable — no independent rating base · critical reviews read 2026-09-23
Most cooking area: Primo Oval LG 300
Primo sells every grill as the bare ceramic “for built-in applications,” and the Oval LG is its answer to the Large EGG and the Classic Joe with more grate than either: 300 square inches on a 15-by-22-inch oval, against 262 and 250. The oval is a genuine cooking advantage — bank the coals on one end and cook indirect on the other without a deflector — and Primo publishes two cut-out templates, with and without the hinge notch, dated May 2021. Its own manual is the only one here that allows a wooden table, with the grill on Primo’s ceramic feet (a set of four, $39 on Primo’s shop). On Amazon it is $1,299, sold by 247Grills, with “Proudly Made in the USA” in the listing.
Not for you if you need an owner record. The listing’s 4.3 stars from 41 are not this grill’s: the reviews we read signed in are about the Oval Junior and the XL, the detail table gives the Junior’s 100-pound weight where Primo says 152, and the newest review is from August 2022. Its critical tail is freight — “Two Broken Grills,” “they cannot deliver without breaking” — and a 2019 owner whose ceramic base separated after two years: “Primo charged me $250 shipping for ceramic upper and lower pieces.” The seller, 247Grills of Dothan, Alabama, shows 75 percent positive feedback on 12 ratings, and we could not confirm it on Primo’s ZIP-code dealer locator; Primo routes warranty claims through “your local dealer.” No credentialed outlet has tested the LG; AmazingRibs’ hands-on Primo review is of the XL.
Primo Oval LG 300 (grill only, PGCLGH)
Most cooking areaYour pick if you want the most grate in the class and an oval that lets you run a fire on one side and cook on the other, you will buy the $39 feet with it, and you are comfortable buying from a dealer rather than the maker.
- The most cooking area on the page: 300 sq in, against 262 for the Large EGG and 250 for the Classic Joe
- The oval lets you bank coals on one side and cook indirect on the other without a deflector
- Primo publishes two templates — with and without the hinge notch — so the lip can sit lower in the counter
- Primo's manual allows a wooden table with the grill on its ceramic feet, where the others say non-combustible
- The Amazon owner base is not this head's: the visible cards review the Oval Junior and the XL, and the newest review is from August 2022
- The critical tail is freight — 'Two Broken Grills', 'they cannot deliver without breaking' — and a 2019 owner paid $250 shipping on a warranty ceramic
- Sold on Amazon by 247Grills of Dothan, Alabama, at 75% positive feedback on 12 ratings; we could not confirm it on Primo's dealer locator
- Gaskets and thermometer carry 30 days, and the heat deflector costs extra
- No credentialed outlet has tested the LG; the one Primo test we found is of the XL
Freight and the warranty bill: 'Two Broken Grills', 'The grill may be great, but they cannot deliver without breaking', a buyer whose Amazon-sold unit arrived broken twice; and a 2019 owner whose ceramic base separated after two years — 'Primo charged me $250 shipping for ceramic upper and lower pieces.' A 2020 Junior owner adds a handle that gets very hot and ash that has to come out past the fire grate.
All 8 critical reviews read signed-in 2026-09-23 (dated 2013–2020; none newer): 5 freight or packaging, 1 warranty shipping cost, 1 heat-up, 1 mixed owner report; 4 of 8 Verified Purchase · critical reviews read 2026-09-23
Strictest install rules: Coyote Asado
Coyote builds the Asado for its own outdoor-kitchen line, and its one-page sell sheet is the most useful install document on this page because it does not hedge: a 22½-inch round cutout, 17 inches deep, 8 inches behind for the hood to open, no combustible island at all, and no combustible material within 24 inches of the frame “in all directions - horizontal & vertical.” The grate is 304 stainless as standard; the cooking area is 254 square inches. On Amazon it is $1,299, sold by BBQGuys.
Not for you under a wood pergola or a lanai ceiling. Two feet of clearance overhead rules out most covered patios. And it is held, not ranked: the listing’s single rating has no review behind it, no outlet has tested the Asado, and the lifetime ceramic term we could read is BBQGuys’ reproduction of Coyote’s copy — Coyote’s own warranty page, which loaded for us this time, lists its gas-grill parts and names no ceramic. What that page does say is that Coyote honors its warranty “only… if the products are purchased through an authorized dealer/distributor.” For a buyer already building a masonry Coyote kitchen, it is the matching charcoal head. For anyone else, the same money buys a head with a test behind it.
Coyote Asado Built-In Ceramic Cooker (C1CHCS)
Strictest install rulesYour pick if you are already building a masonry Coyote kitchen and want the charcoal head that matches the rest of the line, with nothing combustible within 24 inches in any direction.
- The clearest combustibles rule on the page: no combustible island, 24 in to combustibles in every direction, 8 in behind for the hood
- A 304 stainless smoking grate as standard
- Sold on Amazon by BBQGuys, one of the largest specialist grill dealers
- One owner rating on Amazon, and it has no written review behind it
- No credentialed test of the Asado found anywhere
- The 24-in rule applies vertically too — no wood pergola or lanai ceiling within two feet of the frame
- The ceramic-lifetime term we could read is BBQGuys' copy of Coyote's; Coyote's own warranty page lists its gas-grill parts and not the Asado
- 254 sq in costs the same as the Primo LG's 300
No written owner reviews exist. The documented catch is Coyote's own install sheet: no combustible island, 24 in to combustibles in every direction including overhead.
Not applicable — one unwritten rating · critical reviews read 2026-09-23
The SKIP: Primo Large Round
The cheapest built-in ceramic we found, at $999, and the only head on this page that a credentialed tester has already faulted. Serious Eats tested the Round in its All-in-One cart form — the same round ceramic head — and put it in “The Competition” with this: “We were unimpressed with the lid, which didn’t latch and was off-center due to a manufacturing issue. These problems allowed a lot of smoke to escape and caused temperature stability issues.” A lid that does not seal is the one fault a kamado cannot cook around.
It is one unit, and the fault may have been that unit’s. But nothing else supports the head: its Amazon listing, sold by Aqua Terra Backyard, has no rating at all, and to cook indirect it needs Primo’s $65 deflector and $85 rack on top of the $39 feet — about $1,188 equipped, about $210 under a head a tester crowned. It also needs the deepest shelf drop here, 17 inches with the hinge notch, so an island framed for an EGG or a Joe will not take it. If the island is being built once, the four hundred dollars saved on the sticker is not worth the gamble on the lid.
Your pick if you have already seen the actual unit, closed the lid on it yourself, and still want to save four hundred dollars — which is to say, almost nobody buying for an island they can only frame once.
Pro review “We were unimpressed with the lid, which didn't latch and was off-center due to a manufacturing issue. These problems allowed a lot of smoke to escape and caused temperature stability issues.”— Rochelle Bilow, Serious Eats
- The lowest price for a built-in ceramic head we found: $999
- Primo publishes a round template with and without the hinge notch
- 280 sq in of grate, more than the Large EGG or the Classic Joe
- Serious Eats tested the Round (as the All-in-One, the same head on a cart) and wrote that the lid "didn't latch and was off-center due to a manufacturing issue. These problems allowed a lot of smoke to escape and caused temperature stability issues."
- No owner rating at all on its Amazon listing
- Sold on Amazon by Aqua Terra Backyard, a third party with one year on Amazon
- Equipped to cook indirect it costs $1,188, and the saving over a tested head shrinks to about $210
- It needs 17 in to the shelf with the notch — the deepest drop here — so an island framed for an EGG or a Joe will not take it
No owner reviews exist on the listing. The documented catch is a credentialed test: Serious Eats' Round had a lid that did not latch and sat off-center from a manufacturing issue, leaking smoke and destabilising temperature.
Not applicable — no owner base; one credentialed test · critical reviews read 2026-09-23
What to know before you buy
- Buy the head, then frame the island. Every maker’s hole, shelf drop and rear clearance is different, and a Classic Joe II and a Classic Joe III differ by about three inches.
- The counter must not carry the ceramic. It stands on feet or a nest on a shelf, with air moving under it; Big Green Egg’s warranty excludes a suspended EGG.
- Budget for what the box leaves out. Primo’s feet are $39 a set and its heat deflectors are extra; Big Green Egg’s package includes the nest and the convEGGtor; the Classic Joe II Standalone’s listing puts its feet and heat deflectors in the box — check the carton.
- Leave a door where the ash comes out. Kamado Joe’s drawer and Big Green Egg’s lower draft door both need front access in the cabinet.
- Buy from the maker or a dealer the maker names. Kamado Joe and Coyote void or refuse coverage for unauthorized sellers, Big Green Egg requires an Authorized Dealer receipt, and Primo routes claims through your dealer.
- Register it. Kamado Joe and Big Green Egg both require it.
- Nothing combustible overhead. Coyote says 24 inches in every direction; the others do not say, and the inspector decides under a roof.
Bottom line: if you want the tested head that is easiest to live with once it is set in stone, buy the Kamado Joe Classic Joe II Standalone from Kamado Joe; if you want the EGG and a package with nothing missing, buy Big Green Egg’s Large Built-in Package direct; if you want the most grate and will buy from a dealer, the Primo Oval LG; if you are building a masonry Coyote kitchen, the Asado matches it; and do not save four hundred dollars on the Primo Round.
FAQ
What size hole do I cut for a built-in Big Green Egg or Kamado Joe?
Use the maker's drawing, not a blog. Big Green Egg's Large built-in sheet (dated December 2017) calls for a 21.25-inch round hole, 15.00 inches from the support shelf to the top of the countertop with the EGG on its Table Nest, and at least 20.0 inches from the center of the hole to the back wall so the dome opens. Kamado Joe's built-in guide gives the Classic Joe a 22.8-inch circle plus a latch notch 4.7 inches deep and 9.3 wide at the front, 14.4 inches from the bottom of the feet to the top of the counter for a Series II and 17.3 for a Series III. Primo's Oval LG template is 25¼ by 25½ inches with its hinge notch, 13 inches to the shelf. Two of the pages that rank for this question print a Large EGG cutout of 25 by 27 inches and a generic 20 by 20; both are wrong against Big Green Egg's own sheet.
Can a Big Green Egg sit directly in the countertop hole?
Not under its warranty. Big Green Egg's warranty document lists as not covered 'attempting to suspend the EGG by any means other than an approved BGE Nest or solid, non-combustible surface under the base.' An EGG hung by its shoulders in the cutout is exactly that. The EGG has to sit on something below the counter — Big Green Egg's Table Nest, which is included in its Large Built-in Package, or a solid non-combustible surface — and the countertop hole is sized to leave a small air gap around the ceramic, not to carry it.
Can I build a kamado into a wood-framed island?
It depends on the maker, and two of them contradict themselves. Big Green Egg's built-in sheets say the EGG 'must be installed in a non-combustible environment,' while its warranty allows a combustible surface under a Metal Table Nest or a 2-inch concrete block. Kamado Joe's built-in guide requires non-flammable building materials and in the next paragraph tells you to use ceramic feet 'on/over a wood surface.' Primo's manual allows wooden tables with the grill on its ceramic feet. Coyote's Asado sheet is the strictest and the clearest: it 'can NOT be built into a combustible material island,' with no combustible material within 24 inches in any direction, vertical included. Build to the strictest reading that applies to your head.
Can I buy a built-in Kamado Joe on Amazon?
You can, and we would not. When we read the Classic Joe II Standalone's Amazon listing on 22 September 2026, all nine offers came from marketplace sellers — none from Kamado Joe and none from Amazon — and Kamado Joe's warranty page says 'Purchasing any Kamado Joe® product through an unauthorized dealer voids the warranty.' The same head is sold by Kamado Joe directly, for the same money as the cheapest of those offers. On a grill you are building into masonry, the warranty is worth more than the few dollars a marketplace offer might save.
Is a Classic Joe II the same height as a Classic Joe III in a built-in?
No, and it is the most expensive mistake on this page. Kamado Joe's own table gives 14.4 inches from the bottom of the feet to the top of the counter for the Classic Joe II and 17.3 inches for the Classic Joe III — about three inches of difference, because the III's base is deeper. An island framed for a II will not take a III at the same counter line, and the other way round. Decide the exact head before the shelf is set.
What is the cheapest built-in ceramic kamado?
The Primo Large Round head, at $999 on Amazon when we read it — and it is our skip. Serious Eats tested the Round in its All-in-One cart form and wrote that the lid 'didn't latch and was off-center due to a manufacturing issue,' letting smoke escape and upsetting temperature control. Its Amazon listing has no owner rating at all. Add Primo's feet, heat deflector and rack and it costs about $1,188 to cook indirect, which leaves about $210 between it and a head a tester crowned.
Every Built-in Grills & Inserts showdown, by division
Same fight, different budgets. The head rulings first, then each weight class as the price climbs.



