Robotic Pool Cleaners matchup · Light Heavyweight division

Beatbot Sora 70 Robotic Pool Cleaner vs Polaris FREEDOM Plus Cordless Robotic Pool Cleaner

the Light Heavyweight title fight

🏆 WinnerBeatbot

Beatbot Sora 70 Robotic Pool Cleaner

Light Heavyweight Division

★ 4.2 · 307 owner ratings

~$1,099 (MSRP $1,499)

Polaris

Polaris FREEDOM Plus Cordless Robotic Pool Cleaner

Light Heavyweight Division

★ 4.2 · 75 owner ratings · early data

~$1,399

The judges have ruled

Beatbot Sora 70 Robotic Pool Cleaner took this fight in our Light Heavyweight division showdown.

Ringside notes

The insurgent against the establishment, and the judges ruled for the insurgent: the Sora 70 took our Light Heavyweight belt with the FREEDOM Plus in the ring. The owner columns are a dead heat — 4.2★/307 for the Sora 70, 4.2★/75 for the Polaris — so this fight was decided on capability per dollar: the Sora 70 is the only robot under $1,500 that skims the surface while it cleans floor, walls, and waterline (a true 5-in-1), and it does it for $1,099 against the Polaris's $1,399. The FREEDOM Plus's case is legitimacy of a different kind: it's the testers' cordless pick, from the legacy brand, with a LiFi remote, app-programmable cycles, and dealer support behind it — the robot for someone who values a service counter over a spec sheet. Neither documents a battery swap you can do yourself: Beatbot sells no replacement pack for the Sora 70, and Polaris lists a replacement battery block (part R0972000) in its parts channel but documents no user swap, so a fading Polaris battery is a dealer repair. The AFF5 code works on the Sora 70 brand-direct, which widens the price gap further.

Tale of the tape

ModelBest forCleansRuntimeFiltrationBatteryOwner ratingWarrantyPrice
Beatbot Sora 70 Robotic Pool Cleaner product photoBeatbot Sora 70 Robotic Pool Cleaner
Best overallSurface, floor, walls, waterline + shallow platforms (8 in)Up to 7 hr surface / 5 hr floor6L basket, 150µm (optional 3µm ultra-fine)Not stated4.2★ · 3073 yr main body (US); consumables 3 mo — filter basket + roller brushCheck price →Code AFF5 at Beatbot
Polaris FREEDOM Plus Cordless Robotic Pool Cleaner product photoPolaris FREEDOM Plus Cordless Robotic Pool Cleaner
The testers' pickFloor, walls, waterline (4 modes)Cleans in ≤2.5 hr per cycleFilter canister (µm not published)Not stated4.2★ · 75 (early)2 yearsCheck price →

Prices move constantly — any Amazon price shown is as of the date noted and subject to change; tap through for today's number.

Prices move constantly — tap through for today's number.

What would decide it

  • Owner proof: Beatbot Sora 70 Robotic Pool Cleaner reads 4.2★ across 307 owners; Polaris FREEDOM Plus Cordless Robotic Pool Cleaner reads 4.2★ across 75. Depth of sample matters as much as the star.
  • The money: Beatbot Sora 70 Robotic Pool Cleaner streets ~$1,099, Polaris FREEDOM Plus Cordless Robotic Pool Cleaner ~$1,399 — MSRPs, not sale lows, decide the tier.
  • The hidden consumable: Beatbot Sora 70 Robotic Pool Cleaner battery — Not stated; Polaris FREEDOM Plus Cordless Robotic Pool Cleaner — Not stated. A robot whose battery can't be replaced IS the consumable.
  • Beatbot Sora 70 Robotic Pool Cleaner — your pick if: you want one sub-$1,500 robot that skims the surface AND cleans floor, walls, and waterline — Beatbot's 5-in-1 with 6,800 GPH suction; Beatbot sells no replacement battery pack, so plan on the robot as if the battery were sealed.
  • Polaris FREEDOM Plus Cordless Robotic Pool Cleaner — your pick if: you'd rather buy from a dealer, with a LiFi remote and app cycles — the testers' cordless pick at $1,399; per-charge cycles are shorter (~2.5 hr) and the battery is dealer-serviced, not DIY.

The full cards

Winner

Best overall · Beatbot's 2026 5-in-1 — skims the surface AND cleans floor, walls, waterline, and shallow platforms down to 8 in, with 6,800 GPH suction, a 6L/150µm basket (optional 3µm ultra-fine filter), and up to 7 hr surface / 5 hr floor runtime across ~3,230 sq ft

Your pick if you want one sub-$1,500 robot that skims the surface AND cleans floor, walls, and waterline — Beatbot's 5-in-1 with 6,800 GPH suction; Beatbot sells no replacement battery pack, so plan on the robot as if the battery were sealed.

4.2 · 307 owner ratingsacross Amazon · September 2026 · global base · incentivised base
Check price at Amazon →

Sold and shipped by Beatbot Tech · Free 30-day refund/replacement · read 2026-10-08

Picked before we checked what this link pays us.

Code Use AFF5 at Beatbot

Also at: Beatbot

Pro review Reviewed
“For what it offers, the Sora 70 is an absolutely excellent value.”
— Anna Lane, Reviewed

Your pick if you want one sub-$1,500 robot that skims the surface AND cleans floor, walls, and waterline — Beatbot's 5-in-1 with 6,800 GPH suction; Beatbot sells no replacement battery pack, so plan on the robot as if the battery were sealed.

4.2 · 307 owner ratingsAmazon · September 2026 · global base · incentivised base
Pro review “For what it offers, the Sora 70 is an absolutely excellent value.”— Anna Lane, Reviewed
Pros
  • True 5-in-1: the only robot near this price that skims the surface AND does floor/walls/waterline — AquaSense 2 Pro capability territory for hundreds less
  • Big-pool endurance: up to 3,230 sq ft coverage and 7-hour surface runtime on a charge
  • 6,800 GPH suction with a 6L debris basket — built for leaf-heavy pools
  • Cleans shallow platforms and sun shelves down to 8 inches — a spot most robots skip
Cons
  • No documented battery swap, and Beatbot sells no replacement pack (catalog-verified Jul 2026), so plan ownership math as if sealed
  • ~4.5-hour recharge between big cleans
  • Owners rate it 4.2★ across 307 ratings — solid, not standout — and as a 2026 model its owner record can't show yet how the battery ages
What owners complain aboutCapability limit

The jet-pulse feature does not funnel debris as advertised, the finer filter is a separate purchase, and one unit dropped WiFi and refused to return to the poolside.

all 3 critical cards on the August 2026 base of 75 (the base was 307 at the September re-read; the critical tail was not re-read then) — three cards is not a pattern, recorded so the absence is not read as a clean product · critical reviews read August 2026

Check price at Amazon →

Sold and shipped by Beatbot Tech · Free 30-day refund/replacement · read 2026-10-08

Code Use AFF5 at Beatbot

Also at: Beatbot

✓ Safety: no active recallNo active CPSC recall found (checked September 2026: the recall API returned zero records for Beatbot by both ProductName and RecallTitle, with a positive control of 181 heater recalls in the same sitting).

Your pick if you'd rather buy from a dealer, with a LiFi remote and app cycles — the testers' cordless pick at $1,399; per-charge cycles are shorter (~2.5 hr) and the battery is dealer-serviced, not DIY.

4.2 · 75 owner ratingsAmazon · September 2026 · early data · global base
Pro review “Best cordless robotic pool cleaner overall.”— Christopher Null, PCWorld
Pros
  • PCWorld's best cordless robotic pool cleaner overall — Christopher Null found it 'extremely effective at removing leaves and other debris' (The Pool Nerd ranks the base Freedom his runner-up cordless)
  • Hand-held LiFi remote — spot-clean and call it to the waterline; no other robot in this class has one
  • A replacement battery block (part R0972000) exists in the Polaris parts channel — rare in a category where a dead battery usually means a dead robot
  • iAquaLink app cycles + end-of-cycle alerts, and a proper charging caddy
Cons
  • Battery pack is parts-channel only — Polaris doesn't document a user swap, so treat it as dealer-serviceable, not DIY-replaceable
  • Shorter per-charge cleaning window (~2.5 hr cycles) than the big-battery rivals
  • Early Amazon owner base (4.2★ across 75 ratings) — the dealer channel means most owners never review it online
What owners complain aboutLifespan

Charging and battery dominate: a code 21 battery error at about a year, a unit that would not charge after a single run, another whose charging fault went unanswered by the seller. Owners who get past that report one cleaning cycle per charge, a basket small enough to fill on a big pool - after which it climbs the wall - and steps and tanning ledges left undone.

6 of the 10 visible critical cards are charging, battery or run-time; all 10 are US. Tail is 13 of 71 · critical reviews read August 2026

Check price at Amazon →
✓ Safety: no active recallNo active CPSC recall found for this cleaner (checked September 2026). The recall API returns 69 records for 'Polaris' by product name and 133 by title — every one is Polaris INDUSTRIES (Ranger, RZR, Sportsman off-road vehicles and snowmobiles), a namesake with no relation to the Zodiac/Fluidra pool brand; recorded so the false positive is not re-litigated.

FAQ

Which is better, the Beatbot Sora 70 or the Polaris FREEDOM Plus?

Our Light Heavyweight division fight ruled for the Sora 70 — the only sub-$1,500 robot with surface skimming (5-in-1) at $1,099, versus $1,399 for the Polaris. Owner ratings don't separate them (4.2★ across 307 for the Sora 70, 4.2★ across 75 for the Polaris), so the belt came down to capability per dollar.

What's the case for paying more for the Polaris?

The establishment package: it's the testers' cordless pick, with a LiFi remote, app cycles, and a dealer network behind it. If you want a robot a local pool shop will stand behind, that's worth something a spec sheet doesn't show — it just wasn't worth the belt.

Do either have a replaceable battery?

Not as a do-it-yourself job. Beatbot sells no replacement battery pack for the Sora 70, so when its battery fades the robot is the consumable. Polaris lists a replacement battery block (part R0972000) in its parts channel but documents no user swap, so a fading FREEDOM Plus battery is a dealer repair. At $1,100–$1,400 that's a real ownership cost either way; only a corded robot skips the battery clock.

Full fight coverage

Every number on this page derives from the same verified data that renders our showdowns — dated owner-rating reads, MSRP-based tiers, and rulings only where a real fight happened. Data last verified: September 2026. Methodology and monetization disclosure: how we test.